Achia Samuel

    2024

    Samuel’s Story

    I am an only child. I have no brothers or sisters and I am an orphan. My parents died when I was young and I do not remember them at all. I have never been told anything about them, what kind of people they were or how they died. I have uncles, aunts, cousins and a grandmother in a village in Karamojoa where I grew up. They were able to provide me a place to stay and sometimes food, but I was mistreated, usually hungry and made to work long days herding cattle.

    A while later, I left a bad situation with my uncle and lived with my grandmother. She was very old and could not see. She was unable to work and had no way to get food for us or make money so I would work digging in other people’s fields, fetching water from long distances and herding cattle so we could have something to eat. Life was difficult, but I loved my grandmother so much.

    When Peace for Paul came to my village and asked me if I wanted to study, my grandmother and I were so happy. It was everything that we both dreamed of but didn’t think was possible. Now I am happy because I am going to school and learning well. They buy me clothes and I am healthy. I was even able to go back to visit my grandmother in the village again so she could know how good I am now. My sincere appreciation I return to all those who do what it takes to turn me into the person I am today.

    Samuel now attends a highly ranked secondary boarding school and has big dreams to become a businessman in the future. In 2019, Samuel’s beloved grandmother passed away, but she left him a small plot of land with a hut in Northern Uganda. During school holidays Samuel travels back to Northern Uganda to learn about and participate in his tribal culture. He takes great pride in his Karamojong heritage and wants to help his people get out of poverty. While visiting his grandmother’s property he’s also able to spend time with his grandmother’s daughters (his aunties). He enjoys spending time with his extended family during holidays and does his best to help them wherever he can.


    Date of Birth: May 6, 2003

    Place of birth: Moroto, Uganda

    Q&A

    What do you want to be when you grow up? A businessman

    Why? I like interacting with people.

    What is your favorite color? Blue

    What is your favorite food? Plao masala

    What are your hobbies? Swimming, playing football and dancing.

    What is your favorite school subject? Mathematics


    DONATE