2018

     

    Angela’s Story

    “I was always suffering in Moroto [northern Uganda]. My father died after a violent head injury that caused his brain to bleed so much. Then I lived with my mother, grandmother and sister. When I was in Moroto, my grandmother could tell me to go to school. I could wake up in the morning without anything to eat. I could go for long hours hungry and could expect to feed at night but food was not always there. My grandmother could go out in the fields to fetch firewood which she could sell to earn some money. Also digging the people’s land was another alternative. My grandmother could labour a lot to ensure that my school fees were raised but even then I still lacked while at school.

    With no food, I could go hungry sometimes and by the time I could go back home, I could either find or not find something to eat.

    Life was so hard on my side. I could at times go and work in the fields to earn some money to top up on my school fees. I would help with herding other people’s animals like goats, cows and sheep. I would get paid with one cup of milk for each day of work. I had two dogs that would always come with me and it was good but sometimes not so safe with the rebels that want to take the cattle. I did many jobs for food and money but I wanted to study so much.

    One day, I was told that a man came to school and was asking about children who needed support. I met him and some time later, I came to my new home in Jinja. Now I can eat good food and I learn in a good school. I can play football and other games and don’t have to do so much work like before. I cannot believe what Peace for Paul has done for me. I am enjoying this new home so much and I thank you.”


    Date of Birth: January 5, 2003

    Place of birth: Moroto, Uganda

    Q&A

    What do you want to be when you grow up? I want to become a farmer

    Why? So I can grow crops and take care of animals. I want to learn different methods of farming

    What is your favorite color? Red

    What is your favorite food? Rice and beef

    What are your hobbies? Farming and playing volleyball

    What is your favorite subject in school? Chemistry