Ichumar Simon Peter


    Simon Peter’s Story

    Simon Peter became an orphan when he was just 10 years old. He had been separated from his brothers when they traveled to Jinja to look for a better life and shortly after, both of Simon Peter’s parents died.  Simon Peter had no relatives he could rely on for help and so he learned to rely on himself. He began selling water to people in restaurants and at the end of the day, would be lucky to leave with 1000 shillings (approximately 0.33 cents in USD). The school he had attended allowed him to continue his schooling though he had nowhere to live and struggled to find his meals. Simon Peter understood the importance of education and somehow managed to keep his grades up. There was one teacher in particular who helped him with school fees and even with school supplies. Unfortunately in 2014, this kind woman died during childbirth and Simon Peter was again left with no one to help and no way to get enough money to attend school.

    He traveled to Jinja with the hopes that he would be able to find a way to attend school from there. This is when The Peace for Paul Foundation was introduced to him and surprisingly enough when he came to our home the first day, he found his long lost brother, Paul (the namesake for Peace for Paul). In 2015, SP joined the Peace for Paul family and completed his senior school through this program. Over the course of his time at PFP, he was able to locate his young brother Joel, who was also alone in Moroto, and Joel has since joined the PFP family as well. 

    In 2019, SP graduated from secondary school and is now looking forward to enrolling in a University program. He has big dreams to become a lawyer in the future.  PFP makes it a priority for Simon Peter to maintain a relationship with his aunt and during school holidays, SP travels back to Northern Uganda under the care of our Karamojong social worker, to be a part of his culture and spend time with his relatives. He enjoys spending time with his family during holidays and does his best to help them wherever he can. 

    Date of Birth: August 22, 1997

    Place of birth: Moroto, Uganda


    What do you want to be when you grow up? I want to become a lawyer

    Why? I want to fight for justice

    What is your favorite color? Purple

    What is your favorite food? Chicken and chips

    What is your favorite school subject? Divinity and entrepreneurship

    What are your hobbies? Playing football and swimming