2018

    Bosco’s Story

    I was born in Moroto, Uganda. I lived there with my family, which consisted of my mother and father, my four brothers, my one sister, and me.  In Moroto, we were suffering from drought, hunger, and the war. We lived there until my father was shot and killed by rebels. After this, my mother took us and we left Moroto for Jinja in search of a better life.

    When we got to Jinja, we didn’t have food or shelter so we wandered on the streets seeking food, help, and shelter. We could survive on one meal and that was supper. To get money we would collect maize and firewood. I collected scrap metal and used charcoal and sold it for money for survival. We did not have enough food or money to satisfy our needs but we had to bear with the situation. The rent was so high and so many people had to contribute, but sometimes we still did not have enough money for rent. So we started begging on the streets and sometimes we could get some money or we could find food from the rubbish pits.

    I attended school in Masese, but could not pay for the exam fees and my mother could not afford to pay for them. I would go to the streets and search for money to pay for the tests. In the end, if I couldn’t find money, I would run to the streets to dodge having to pay the school administration. I thought, “Why should I bother myself?” so I couldn’t finish.

    Then one day, I was able to find Heidi on the streets. At first, she decided to buy for us some soft drinks and chapati with my friends. The next time they sent one of the uncles called Uncle Peter to come and ask if we wanted some help. With that, I joined the Peace for Paul Foundation family. Then shortly after this time, my young sister Gloria joined and then my older brother Michael as well. Since I joined the new family, I met new brothers and sisters and all life is good to enjoy here.


     

    Date of Birth: April 29, 1999

    Place of birth: Moroto, Uganda

    Q&A

    What do you want to be when you grow up? I want to become a Business Administrator or an exporter of goods and services

    Why? So I can become self employed and gain experience in different places

    What is your favorite color? Orange

    What is your favorite food? Chicken and chips

    What are your hobbies? Playing football and swimming

    What is your favorite subject in school? Entrepreneurship