Loputh Joseph

    2019

    Joseph’s Story

    “We used to live in Moroto (Northeastern Uganda) and this is where I was born. I don’t know where my father is and I have never known him. My mother stayed in Moroto but she sent me to live with my aunt in Jinja to find a better life. I don’t remember my mother or know where she is today. Life was really hard in the slums of Masese because we could only survive on one meal all throughout the day. I stayed with my auntie and cousins. We could rent a room but sometimes there was no money to pay the monthly bills since she did not have a stable income source. She then decided to send us on the streets so as to beg and see that we could help her meet the rent monthly bills and the medical bills too. So we started begging on the streets and sometimes we could get some money or we could find food from the rubbish pits. I used to wear my mother’s shirt to remember her when I was living with my aunt.

    Since I joined the new family with Peace for Paul, I met new brothers and sisters and all life is good to enjoy. I did not ever at one moment think that I would be in such a wonderful home. I have been able to get a quality education since my journey with the new family started and all is well. Eating is so wonderful because I am now able to access three big meals each day. We get treated whenever we are sick with any illness. And so I really appreciate the medical services provided to me. I have everything I need and want and have a good life with my cousins and new brothers and sisters in Peace for Paul”.

    Joseph is now in secondary school and is performing well, looking toward his future with hope. He hopes to someday become a successful businessman. During school holidays, Joseph travels  back to Karamoja with his cousins to spend time with his extended family. He still does not know the whereabouts of his mother. Joseph is learning about and being a part of his Karamojong culture in Karmoja and knows that Peace for Paul will ensure his safety and provide food, medical care and all other necessities while there. 

    Date of Birth: August 3, 2002

    Place of birth: Moroto, Uganda

    Q&A

    What do you want to be when you grow up? I want to become a business man

    Why? I like being involved in carrying out everything business

    What is your favorite color? Yellow

    What is your favorite food? Vegetable currant

    What are your hobbies? Playing football and volleyball

    What is your favorite subject in school? Physics and chemistry


    DONATE