Oroma Peter

    2022

    Peter’s Story

    “I was born into a family of 8 children. While my parents loved us all very much, they were unable to provide for us. When I was a young boy, my father advised all of us to withdraw from school so we could work together in the gardens to earn money for the family’s survival. The money I earned was used to help my oldest brother and sister pay for their school fees since they were already in high levels and my parents wished to see them finish. I saw them learning, and wished so much to be like them. I decided I would work double time in the gardens to earn enough to pay for my own school fees as well. I was able to put myself through Senior 4 through my own hard work. Unfortunately, the cost of education became too high a burden for me to bear and I had to drop out. I was out of school for two years, but I knew I wanted more for myself so I kept the hope alive. In 2022, I discovered the Peace for Paul Foundation and began volunteering to help the children in PFP’s programs develop their own skills. The Administrators within PFP noticed my baking and catering skills and have provided me with the opportunity now to return to skill to pursue my degree in Catering and Management. I am looking toward graduating with a degree and the capabilities to start my own business, which will in turn create opportunities for many others. My great hope is that I will be able to employ youth who are struggling to raise their own school fees. The funds they earn by working with me in my bakery will allow them to complete their education and ultimately to find hope in their own lives”.

    Date of Birth: January 19th, 1997

    Place of Birth: Pader District, Northern Uganda

    Q&A

    What is your plan for employment after you graduate? I wish to start a bakery and small restaurant so I can employ myself and other youth

    Why? I wish to create a job for myself as well as for others since jobs are not available for graduates in Uganda

    What is your favorite food? Chicken and Kaloo (Millet flour)

    What is your favorite thing to do? I love to cook and bake!

    What is your favorite subject in school? I haven’t started school yet

    How do you intend to make a difference for your community? I want to create jobs for people so they can support their own families. Further, I wish to train children of PFP in different skills so they can use them to enrich their own lives and the lives of those around them.

    DONATE